Asics Responds to Unique Arch Fluctuation

It’s visibly evident that women’s feet are shaped differently than men’s. And, due to the shape of their hips, women’s running stride is also different than men’s. But Asics has responded with a recently developed running shoe system to another characteristic of the female foot that sets it apart from its male counterpart. Asics International Research Coordinator Simon Bartold says in Runners’ World Magazine,

“Estrogen relaxes soft tissue, which causes changes in arch height over the course of the menstrual cycle.”

In response to the unique fluctuation in the female foot, Asics developed the Gender Space Trusstic System that adjusts to fit a women’s arch as it changes shape. This cushioning and support device is created with a thin layer of foam that lies across a rigid arch such that when a woman’s arch drops, the foam is compressed and flattened. When her arch is higher, the foam elevates and provides increased cushioning. This feature debuted in the Asics Gel Kayono and the Asics Women’s GT 2110. Check them out:
Asics Gel Kayano
GT 2110

April 30, 2006 | by Admin

After Years of Injuries, I Finally Found the Asics GT 2040

If you’re an over-pronator, the Asics GT 2040 might just be for you. For long-distance over-pronators, especially those of us with narrow feet, the Asics GT 2040 puts up a solid fight.

As one Asics GT 2040 user put it:

“My over-pronation was causing my tendenitis and stress fractures. What I needed was the best narrow, motion control shoes that I could find. After years of injuries, and years of trying different shoes, I finally got it right! I trained and ran with the Asics GT 2040. I had a wonderful training experience and ran a very respectable marathon.”

In fact, this runner gives the Asics GT 2040 5 out of 5 stars. Check out her review.

April 26, 2006 | by Admin

Nike Shox R4 Earns a Solid 5 Stars


The Nike Shox R4 is engineered for the distance runner who yearns for a resilient yet lightweight shoe. The upper is made of engineered mesh to provide support where needed and breathability where it counts. The most noticable, but not necessarily notable, feature of the shoe is the shok cushioning. Nike boasts that Shok cushioning is engineered for the long run with a Zoom Air unit that delivers its own responsive cushioning during propulsion.

NikeFreak doats on the NikeShox R4:

I have run in this shoe for quite a while now and it is so durable. The columns have been mechanically tested for at least 2000 miles. I haven’t run that much in these, due to my other comfortable shoe, the Shox TL, but it has been quite durable in about 500-600 miles, I am guessing. Plus, the beauty of this shoe is awesome. I personally think that it is one of the best-designed running shoes ever. I love the Alpha Project dots in clear plastic at the heel of the shoe, the five dots by the forefoot mesh, the clean, sophisticated lines of the upper. It is just wonderfully constructed and has the performance to match.

This is a shoe for neutral runners who seek maximum responsive cushioning. If you have arch problems or are big for your size, this is probably not it.

The Nike Shox R4 retails for about $150.

April 24, 2006 | by Admin

Nimbus Earns 5 Stars

Runners adore the ASICS Gel Nimbus VI Cushion Running Shoes. Featuring the Asics Impact Guidance System (IGS) this cushioned trainer enhances a foot’s natural gait. Providing superior fit, it offers increased absorption and midsole durability.

Reviewers universally give Nimbus five stars. Check out the review highlighted below:

When I started running 2 years ago, I made the mistake of running in cheap shoes, and began to experience awful pain in my left heel while running. I have since wised up, and will only purchase running shoes at a “running store”. The chain sporting goods stores you find in every mall don’t count as their selection of high quality shoes are limited, and staff experience is equally limited. I needed a great cushioning shoe for my heel problem. I tried on 3 pair of shoes based on the running store recommendation. Asics Gel Nimbus VI, Brooks Glycerin 3, Saucony 3D Grid Triumph2. For me, the Nimbus VI felt most comfortable in the store (half size above my foot measurement). I’ve been on my treadmill running in my Nimbus VI for the past month, and I feel like royalty. I’ve never owned such a good pair of running shoes, and most important, my heel pain has diminished.

April 14, 2006 | by Admin

Rack Up the Miles in the New Balance 850 Series



Here at Running Shoes Research, we go straight to the runner to get the best word on sneakers. Today, we’ve profiled one runner has been loyal to the 850 Series by New Balance.

Name: Maureen
Age: 22
Location: Washington, DC
Biggest Running Feat: A 32 km run through Pavia, Italy
Shoes of the Moment: New Balance 856

Why she loves these shoes:

“I’ve been with this model since it was the 851…I like it because it’s a sturdy shoe and really controls my landing to minimize injury. It’s not designed for speed and it’s not particularly light or cushioned, but its sturdiness and rollbar support make it perfect for a distance runner who wants to pound a lot without making her knees and shins suffer the consequences. I run particularly heavy on my feet and need to watch out for shin splints and runner’s knee when I start upping my mileage – so the New Balance 856 has been a good model for me because it seems to have minimized those injuries.”

The New Balance 857, New Balance’s newest shoe, features a TS2 dual density medial post and an ABZORB SBS cushioning system that may make this version softer than the last. This stability shoe weighs in at 11.3 oz for women, and 13.7 oz for men. It runs about about $90-$95. More information on the 857 and other shoes can be found on the New Balance website.

April 12, 2006 | by Admin

Light Done Right

With all the hype about lightweight running shoes this year, it can be a project to determine if lightweight’s right for you. The Diadora Mythos Samurai, retailing for about $80, is a great shoe for trying light. This hyrbid racer/trainer offers more support and cushioning than many lightweight running shoes, but is significantly lighter than most trainers, namely the Mythos Axeler Trainer. The shoe features a minimalist upper and a substantial dual-density mid-sole. It’s heralded as both a great shoe for fast paced runs while serving larger runners and those with inefficient bio-metrics especially well.

For a great deal, check out the Diadora Mythos Samurai at

April 10, 2006 | by Admin

Bugs for Winter and Spring Running

The fairly new IceBug Multi-Run Dry Shoe is hailed by SNEWS as the best waterproof shoe of the year. Useful for both running on ice and running through a wet spring, the IceBug Multi-Run Dry Shoe leaves no excuses for avoiding a rainy day. For $145, you can get the shoe SNEWS gives 4 out of 5 clapping hands:

The relatively new Icebug Multi Run shoes are unquestionably the best option for winter running yet. Their most notable feature is a set of 17 carbide steel studs that protrude from lugs on an otherwise conventional trail running sole. The metal studs are designed to recess into the lugs when they strike hard ground, yet provide traction on ice.

While wearing Icebugs, you can dash confidently across ice that would have you tiptoeing in any other running shoes; even dogs donít grip as well. The model tested has a waterproof/breathable lining so puddles and slush are no problem either ó just charge on through. They are fantastic winter shoes, even for walking on sidewalks!

Check out the new IceBugs!

April 8, 2006 | by Admin

The Standard in Men’s Trail Runners

If you’re an all season runner who loves hitting the trails, consider the Montrail Susitna XCR Trail Running shoe this season. With a Gore-Tex shell, and a DryShell to prevent water weight gain, it provides one of the greatest levels of breathability ever achieved in waterproof footwear. This trail runner provides a comfortable, conforming and durable fit.

Back Country Outlet reviews the Montrail Susitna XCR. The shoe earns between 4 and 5 stars with each review.

” I wore these shoes for a 20 mile trail run right out of the box. The track was wet with several creek crossings and lots of slogging through thick mud. My feet stayed dry and comfortable without blistering. The only improvement I could ask for is an easier lacing system to allow tightening without stopping and removing gators. “

” The greatest thing about this pair of goretex shoes is that it actually stays dry and therefore, *light*. This is very important for runners. Unlike the others, the goretex layer is on the outside and so the shoes won’t get soaked. As for why I didn’t give it 5 stars, well, I never find much breathability of any goretex shoes, not even in this pair that uses XCR.”

Before your next trail runner purchase, learn about the Montrail Susitna XCR.

March 31, 2006 | by Admin

Stay Firm: Puma Complete Phasis III

If you’re feet are fairly normal, you do not suffer from especially high or low arches and you dig a firm shoe, the Puma Complete Phasis III might be the shoe for you. It offers breathable fabric and serious support. Runner’s World creates an annual review of shoes, and highlights the Puma Complete Phasis III in 2006′s report. Runner’s World says:

Think of the updated Phasis as a neutral-cushioned version of the Tenos. According to our Shoe Lab tests, the Phasis is a bit firmer, but slightly more flexible than the Tenos. The reason for the shoe’s improved flexibility: additional flex grooves in the outsole. The Phasis is built on Puma’s new last, which is slightly narrower in the heel. Recommended for biomechanically efficient runners with normal to high arches who are looking for a flexible cushioning shoe.

Runner’s World offers one line quotes about shoes from their wear-testers. These comments provide excellent, simple analysis from real runners about shoes you’re considering. Here’s an example:

“These shoes [the Puma Complete Phasis III] offered just the right amount of support and cushioning.” -Bobbie Krueger, 22, San Diego

March 27, 2006 | by Admin

A Racing Flat with Nerve

As you gear up for spring races, consider a Brooks racing flat. The Brooks Nerve LD sells for about $50, providing solid performance without overwhelming cost. If you’re prepping to race 800 to 5000 meters (or even longer), be sure to check out the Brooks Nerve LD. The Running Network says:

By managing the longer distances in an economical fashion, the Nerve picks up where the Brooks line left off last season. A capable little sibling to the Z1, every feature has been scaled back just enough to trim the cost while still providing performance. The upper is attractive, ventilated and offers a secure fit. The midsole provides enough cushioning for successful racing or faster training sessions. The spikeplate is effective, comfortable to run on and, with a variety of placements for the seven spikes, adjustable.

Check it out today!

March 25, 2006 | by Admin

Older Entries Next Page »