Shin Splints Prevention and Recovery For Running

I have chronic problems with shin splints and I have seem a wealth of suggestions on how to prevent them. How do I deal with them?

  1. If you are worried about shin splints, do not run more than 10-15 minutes per week at first. Yes, that little. Use other means of non-impact exercise to stregthen the muscles in your leg, such as an elliptical orbiter or riding a bike.
  2. Make sure your running shoes are appropriate for your feet and arches. For instance, if you are prone to over-pronating, you should have a motion contol shoe designed to prevent over pronation while running.
  3. Gradually increase your weekly running, substituting 10 minutes of cross training with 10 minutes of incremental running.
  4. If you feel the beginning of any shin splint aching in your legs, reduce or eliminate your running but continue your cross training.
  5. Keep in mind that if you do get shin splints, there is no cure, there is nothing you can do but to stop running. Hence why it is better to be overly conservative as you ramp up your running time.
Buy Cialis without prescription

Buy Levitra without prescription

Buy Viagra without prescription

Buy Phentermine without prescription

Buy Propecia without prescription

Buy Soma without prescription

Buy Tramadol without prescription

Buy Ultram without prescription

Buy Xenical without prescription

Buy Zoloft without prescription

Slow and steady wins the race against shin splints. Another way to avoid them is to not let your legs get out of shape to begin with, but everyone has to start somewhere. Good luck.

January 24, 2007 | by Admin

How to Determine What Kind of Arches Your Feet Have

Earlier we showed you how to measure the size and width of your feet, but we neglected to demonstrate how to go and determine an equally important aspect of buying a running shoes; how to determine what kind of arch you have and what the appropriate type of support you need from your running shoes.

The process is simple. Get a white sheet of paper, even some torn from a notebook or excess printer paper will do. Lay the paper on the ground. Now fill a pot with water and dip your feet in it. Apply your feet to the white sheet of paper and compare the impression it leaves to these images.

If you have a high arch, it will look more like the image on the left. If you have a flat or low arch, than it will look like the image on the right. If your foot imprint is close to an average of the two images, than you have a neutral arch.

Doing this I found out what I already knew which is that I happen to have high arches and need a lot of support in my running shoe.

January 17, 2007 | by Admin

“Beast 9″ From Brooks Sheds Some Weight

If you are a larger runner looking for a lightweight trainer that still has plenty of stability, check out the new Beast 9 from Brooks. This model is “noticeably lighter and more comfortable than previous Beasts”, according to one reviewer– and more resilient. While the Beast may not be THE lightest stability shoe out there, it may very well be the most comfortable.

“If you overpronate or are a heavy runner, you must try these out. The added stability and comfort is a must if you want to run long distances. I have to admit, my farthest run in these shoes has been a half marathon and I had no pain in my feet at all. If you are interested in longer distances, I can’t say how the Beast will hold up but from what I can tell, there will be no problems. The added weight may factor into longer distances.”

Full Review

Ladies: Check out the women’s version of the Beast, the Brooks Ariel.

Beast 9

October 4, 2006 | by Admin

Need Shoes With Some Cushioning? Try Nike Pegasus

Cushioned shoes are designed for runners who need minimal medial (arch-side) support and maximum midsole cushioning. They are best suited for efficient runners with few mechanical issues such as overpronation, and midfoot or forefoot strikers. Runners who do best in cushioned shoes often have moderate to high arches.

If you’re looking for a good cushioned trainer, look no further than the Nike Pegasus. One reviewer had this to say about the shoe:

“The comfort level in these shoes is comparable to my Asics Gel-Nimbus, which is saying quite a bit. From the start to the end of a run (I usually average 6-10 miles per run) these shoes just feel like a cushiony pillow.”

To read the full review, click here

Nike Pegasusnikepegasus.jpgnikepegasus.jpg

October 2, 2006 | by Admin

Looking for a Deal on Running Shoes?

As a runner, you know your shoes are important. Having quality, well-fitting shoes is key to injury prevention. If you are a typical high-mileage runner, you replace your shoes every 3-4 months, give or take. Problem is, those shoes can be expensive, and at 3-4 pairs a year, the cost can quickly add up. Specialty running stores are great if you are unsure of the type of shoe you should be wearing, as their staff can steer you in the right direction. But if you’re like me, you already have a favorite brand and possibly even a favorite model, that you consistently purchase. If you’re looking for a discount on your favorite shoes, head to places like The Sports Authority or Dick’s Sporting Goods(I consistently find shoes for less than $50 there). Some other websites to check out:

http://kellysrunningwarehouse.com

http://www.holabirdsports.com

http://www.runbargains.com

http://www.roadrunnersports.com/rrs/outlet/

September 30, 2006 | by Admin

Asics Gel Cumulus a Top Pick for Neutral Runners

If you are a runner with few mechanical issues who is looking for an all-around great training shoe, the Asics Gel Cumulus may be for you. The Cumulus is designed for the neutral runner looking for a straightforward, no-frills shoe that will withstand many months of training without falling apart. One runner had this to say about the Cumulus:

“The Cumulus was a my first pair of ASICS, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I needed a shoe that would get me through a few months of training without breaking down or causing me some sort of injury. And, when it was all said and done the Cumulus met all these needs and lasted longer than expected.”

To read her full review, click here.

Asics Gel Cumulus

September 24, 2006 | by Admin

How to Measure the Size and Width of Your Foot

I’ve recently realized my shoes do no fit correctly so I have been trying to determine how to get a better fit. One key thing is to keep in mind that your shoe size is more than just the length of your foot and even more than the width. Cludging your feet into shoes which fit only one aspect of your actual three dimensional foot can results in foot pains and leg problems. Here is an a descrption and illustration of how to measure your feet courtesy of HealthBolt:

Measure your feet once a year. Your foot size will change throughout your entire life. It may not be as dramatic as the 18 and under crowd, but they do change. For instance: when I started running about 2 years ago I was a 10.5; now I’m an 11. (I’m 25 years old.)

There are three dimensions you should measure your feet by when purchasing a shoe. Size (which is really “length”), arch and width.

Size [Running Shoes Research Ed note: Length]

Put a piece of paper on a hard surface and step on it. You may want to wear the actual kind of sock you’ll be wearing with the shoes you’re planning on fitting with these measurements. Make a mark (or better yet, have someone do it for you while you stand up straight) in front of your longest toe and one just behind your heel.


Width:

In the same position, measure the outside of your foot at its widest point and the inside at its widest point.

When did this I found that my feet are actually a size 12 in length now rather than a 11.5 they had been since I was 19. The width is about a size E.

August 23, 2006 | by Admin

Calculate the Distance of Your Run on Walkjogrun.net

Fellow Runners, I have found my new favorite website!

After years of searching the internet to find a good way to measure my running routes, I discovered walkjogrun.net. It works in conjunction with Google Earth and allows you to find the distance of any – yes that’s any – running route. No more Mapquest for me!

This website has all that you could possibly need to help you find the distance of a running path. Simply put in the zip code of the place where you started, zoom in to the appropriate level, then click on the different places where you turned to get the exact distance. It’s a little slow speed wise, but once you get the hang of it, it’s definitely worth it. Check it out!

May 5, 2006 | by Admin

Asics Responds to Unique Arch Fluctuation

It’s visibly evident that women’s feet are shaped differently than men’s. And, due to the shape of their hips, women’s running stride is also different than men’s. But Asics has responded with a recently developed running shoe system to another characteristic of the female foot that sets it apart from its male counterpart. Asics International Research Coordinator Simon Bartold says in Runners’ World Magazine,

“Estrogen relaxes soft tissue, which causes changes in arch height over the course of the menstrual cycle.”

In response to the unique fluctuation in the female foot, Asics developed the Gender Space Trusstic System that adjusts to fit a women’s arch as it changes shape. This cushioning and support device is created with a thin layer of foam that lies across a rigid arch such that when a woman’s arch drops, the foam is compressed and flattened. When her arch is higher, the foam elevates and provides increased cushioning. This feature debuted in the Asics Gel Kayono and the Asics Women’s GT 2110. Check them out:
Asics Gel Kayano
GT 2110

April 30, 2006 | by Admin

Blisters Be Gone!

So your old running shoes have covered your feet in blisters. You’ve fixed the problem by purchasing new, better fitting running shoes, but you still have the blisters. Is there any way to treat the blisters and keep your workout schedule while the throbbing bubbles heal? Check out these products to relieve and prevent those horrible hotspots.

ENGO Performance Patches

4 Pack $9.95
ENGO Performance Patches are applied directly to the shoe, sock or insole. The patch creates a slick, chafe-free surface. I wore one patch through several long runs and it stayed in place. These are pricey, but I definitely got what I paid for — I’ve been blister free for as long as I’ve used ENGO.
Check out this link for instructions for use and to purchase ENGO Performance Patches .

ProFoot Corn Wrap

3 Pack $4.33

This product stretches over toes, aligning the gel padding on the blister to provide relief. My running partner uses these and finds that the gel squishes in between her toes and greatly minimizes her blister pain on impact. She says that this product makes her pain worse when she has big blisters, but works beautifully for smaller irritants.

Check out ProFoot Corn Wraps here.


SportShield Towlette

10 Pack $8
This lubricated towelette is rubbed on feet to prevent blister causing friction. The SportShield is simple to apply, there isn’t any mess and it’s usable on all chafe areas, not just feet. The biggest drawback of this product is that it’s only preventative and doesn’t provide relief on existing blisters.

Order SportShield Towlettes here

April 28, 2006 | by Admin

Older Entries Next Page »